Medical Marijuana Law in Florida

marijuana plant against office background showing people studying medical marijuana law
August 12, 2023 0 Comments

If you’re considering using medical marijuana in Florida, you may have some questions about medical marijuana law and how it applies to you. Here are some frequently asked questions and answers to help you navigate the process. We’ll start with the more obvious ones that apply to accessing it.

What Are the Qualifying Medical Conditions for Medical Marijuana in Florida?

According to medical marijuana law in Florida, there are several specific qualifying conditions, such as:

  • cancer
  • epilepsy
  • glaucoma
  • PTSD
  • ALS
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • multiple sclerosis
  • other debilitating medical conditions of the same kind or class.

This last provision allows physicians some discretion in their recommendations.

How Do I Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Florida?

To get a medical marijuana card in Florida, you need:

  1. Your medical history and diagnosis by your physician.
  2. Recommendation for medical marijuana use from a licensed medical marijuana doctor – in other words one who has completed a state-required training course. They must state that the benefits of you using marijuana outweigh your risks.
  3. Signed-up status for a medical marijuana card with the Florida Department of Health.

Where Can I Purchase Medical Marijuana in Florida?

Patients can purchase medical marijuana from licensed dispensaries. They are regulated by the Florida Department of Health’s Office of Medical Marijuana Use, which oversees the medical marijuana program in the state.

How Do I Renew My Medical Marijuana Card in Florida?

To renew your medical marijuana card in Florida, you must visit a qualified physician and schedule an appointment for a renewal evaluation. If you still meet the requirements for a medical marijuana card, you can submit a renewal application to the Florida Department of Health.

How Much Does it Cost to Use Medical Marijuana?

We already have an extensive post on what it costs to use medical marijuana, but these are the main costs in a nutshell:

  • Initial and follow-up doctor’s examinations (every seven months): the average cost in 2022 was $149. Costs will be rising with inflation, of course!
  • Obtaining and renewing your medical marijuana use registry identification card: The initial cost is currently $75 and must be renewed annually (additional $75 fee).
  • Buying at dispensaries: The cost can vary by strain, potency, and form, as well as amount, method of consumption, and frequency of use. The average patient in Florida usually spends between $100 to $200 per month on medical marijuana.
  • Hidden costs: keep in mind other related fees related to consultations, product packaging, or delivery.

Can I Renew My Medical Marijuana Prescription Online or By Phone?

According to medical marijuana law in Florida, yes, this is now possible! As of August 2023, Florida Governor Ron DeSantis has signed a telehealth bill into law, allowing medical marijuana prescriptions to be renewed through telehealth services.

The bill requires an initial in-person examination by a physician for the first prescription, but subsequent renewals can be done through telehealth visits, either online or over the phone.

If I Cannot Pick Up My Prescription, What Does Medical Marijuana Law Say About a Relative or Friend Picking It Up for Me?

In Florida, a medical marijuana patient can designate a caregiver to pick up their prescription on their behalf if they cannot do so themselves. The caregiver must be at least 21 years old and submit a caregiver application to get their own medical marijuana card.

Do I Qualify for Medical Marijuana in Florida as a Seasonal Resident?

Yes, seasonal residents (a.k.a. snowbirds) may qualify for medical marijuana if they meet the same eligibility requirements as full-time residents. This includes having a qualifying medical condition and obtaining a recommendation from a qualified physician. In addition, Florida snowbirds must show proof that:

  • They live in Florida for at least 31 consecutive days each calendar year.
  • They have a temporary residence.

What Are the Possession Limits for Medical Marijuana in Florida?

Your physician determines the proper dosage for you, although the maximum amount a patient can receive is a 70-day supply before needing a new prescription.

Can I Smoke Medical Marijuana in Florida?

Smoking medical marijuana has been legal in Florida since the Florida legislature passed a bill in March 2019 lifting the ban on smoking that had been in place from 2016 when medical marijuana was legalized in Florida.

However, it’s still only permitted in private places. According to medical marijuana law (Senate Bill 8A), using medical marijuana is still illegal in public areas such as:

  • public transport
  • any public space
  • place of employment
  • correctional institution
  • school grounds
  • school bus
  • in a vehicle, aircraft, or motorboat

Can I Travel by Plane with My Medical Marijuana Supply?

Despite being legal in several states, including Florida, marijuana and even certain CBD-infused products are illegal at the federal level.

There are therefore no clear guidelines for patients traveling with their medical marijuana. But the final decision rests with the TSA officer checking at that moment.

If medical marijuana possession is reported to local police in Florida, they would normally take no action if carrying the medication is in accordance with Florida law.

Tip: Make sure to always have documentation on you! But see below about crossing state boundaries.

Can I Travel By Car with My Medical Marijuana?

Yes, but you must keep it in the original packaging, have the necessary documentation on you, and not consume it inside the vehicle.

Importantly, because marijuana is an illegal drug at the federal level, you must not drive across state lines. Medical marijuana law is made independently at the state level by their legislature.

Can I Grow My Own Marijuana at Home in Florida for Medical Purposes?

You cannot grow marijuana for any use, be it recreational, medical, or commercial!

The only exceptions are the licensed medical marijuana treatment centers, regulated by the Department of Health, which have to manage the entire supply chain of marijuana growth and distribution.

Who Can Access My Records Under Medical Marijuana Law?

These records are private, and the only people that can access them are:

  • your doctor
  • Florida Department of Health
  • staff at the dispensary
  • law enforcement

Other entities, such as billing companies or those that work with your dispensary, may be able to access your records within the business framework. However, your privacy is protected under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA), so rest assured that your information is safe!

Any Other Questions? Let Us Support You at Emerald Medical!

For any further questions concerning medical marijuana law in Florida or assistance along your journey with Florida’s medical marijuana program, our experienced team at Emerald Medical Group is here to support you every step of the way. Schedule an appointment now!

Image attribution

Article Name
Medical Marijuana Law in Florida
A clear and easy-to-read post answering your questions about medical marijuana law in Florida and how it applies to you. Learn more!