Medical marijuana laws are confusing! Especially if you travel from state to state. Many people don’t realize that the laws regarding medical cannabis are not federal laws, meaning that they pertain to every state in America.
Instead, the federal government has said that since medical marijuana is still considered a Schedule 1 drug by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) that marijuana is not legal. However, they also stipulate that each state can act autonomously, meaning each state has the right to pass its own legislation regarding medical marijuana.
This stipulation has made medical marijuana laws confusing and difficult to follow. It also means that you cannot take marijuana across state lines and that when you travel, you may not be able to obtain medical cannabis in the state you are visiting (depending on their laws).
Florida recognizes that a good portion of its citizens are part-time or seasonal residents, aka snowbirds, and has passed medical marijuana laws accordingly. The state’s medical marijuana program only requires 31 days of residency for new or part-time residents to become eligible for a Florida medical marijuana card.
That’s excellent news for snowbirds! This article will cover the most frequently asked questions from snowbirds and other part-time residents about obtaining medical marijuana in Florida. And don’t forget that if we haven’t answered your question here, we’re happy to talk with you on the phone or via email!
Qualifying as a Resident of Florida
What’s the difference between the following?
- Part-time resident
- Seasonal resident
Well, if you have lived in Florida for more than 30 days, you are considered a resident and not just a vacationer.
What Does the State Accept as Proof of Residency?
The state accepts a Florida driver’s license as proof that you’re a Florida resident. And, if you do not have a Florida driver’s license, you can provide two of the following documents to prove that you are a seasonal resident.
- A housing document, such as:
- A deed
- Monthly mortgage statement
- Mortgage payment booklet
- Residential rental or lease agreement
- Proof of residential address with whom the seasonal resident resides, such as the seasonal resident’s:
- Legal guardian
- Another person
- A statement from the person with whom the seasonal resident lives stating that the seasonal resident does reside with them.
- A utility hook-up or work order dated within 60 days before registration in the medical use registry.
- A utility bill that is not more than two months old.
- Mail from a financial institution that is not more than two months old, including:
- Checking statement
- Savings statement
- Investment account statement
- Mail that is not more than two months old from a:
- Federal agency
- State agency
- County agency
- Municipal government agency
What Medical Conditions Qualify for Medical Marijuana in Florida?
Your provider will determine if you have a qualifying condition. In other words, a state-certified doctor must determine that you have a chronic or debilitating condition that marijuana may relieve.
Florida has approved the following conditions for medical marijuana treatment.
- ALS/Lou Gehrig’s disease
- Crohn’s disease
- Chronic muscle spasms
- Multiple sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Chronic pain
Are There Other Conditions That a State-Certified Doctor May Approve for Medical Marijuana Use?
If you suffer from any ailment and condition of the same severity and symptoms, your provider may be able to approve you for a medical marijuana card. Let’s look at a list of possible conditions medical marijuana may treat.
- Chemotherapy side effects
- Chronic pain
- Inflammatory bowel disease
- Rheumatoid arthritis
So, How Do I Go About Getting a Florida Medical Marijuana Card?
The best way to get a medical marijuana card is to work with a clinic like ours that can assist you with each step of the process.
Will I Need Medical Records to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card?
Yes. You will need to ask your current provider for copies of all pertinent medical records so that you can give them to your state-certified doctor.
What Are the Steps to Get a Card?
- Make an in-person visit with a state-certified doctor, like our clinic, and get approval.
- Apply for your medical card with the Office of Medical Marijuana Use (OMMU) and pay the $75 registration fee.
- After you are approved, register with the state. This registration is good for 210 days.
- After that, wait for your medical marijuana card to arrive!
When Can I Purchase My Medical Marijuana?
After the state of Florida has approved you, a card will be mailed to your Florida address. The good news is that you don’t have to wait until your card arrives to visit a dispensary and purchase your medicine. All you need to take with you is a valid ID!
And, Can I Travel With Medical Marijuana?
We do not recommend that you travel with medical marijuana on your person or in your car until you have received your card in the mail. After that, you will have no problems if you follow the rules.
Can I Travel Across State Lines With Medical Marijuana?
Most importantly, be warned that once you drive across state lines or get on a plane, you will be held responsible under federal law other state laws where marijuana might be illegal without an in-state medical marijuana card. And, there is no exception to this rule! So, when you head out of state, it’s best to leave your medical cannabis behind.
Let Us Help You Make the Best Out of Your Time Florida!
Florida is a great place to spend winters — or any time of year! And, while you are here, make sure that you have access to the medical marijuana you need to keep you healthy and happy! Make an appointment today, and we’ll get you started!